MRV Architects began in 1952 as the offices of Linn A. Forrest, FAIA. Through the years, new partners have brought their unique talents (and initials) to the firm. Major corporate revisions include Minch Ritter Forrest in 1983, Minch Ritter Voelckers in 1989, and MRV Architects in 2005. Currently, Zane Jones is the President of MRV Architects.

MRV Architects is one of the oldest and most respected architecture firms in Alaska. Though our design expertise is centered around schools, libraries, museums and commercial buildings, our experience is diverse. Our award-winning project portfolio attests to the firm’s successes in a wide array of project types.

Our staff, is strongly committed to sustainable design principles. Our firm has signed the AIA 2030 Commitment. Our staff includes three LEED AP trained professionals, and we strongly encourage all new staff to gain certifications whether it be LEED or Living Future Accredidation. In every structure we design, we strive to make it ideal in scale and character for its environment and occupants, pleasing in form, carefully detailed for the Alaskan climate, and sensitive to issues of light, view, and sustainability.

MRV is a mid-sized firm with a consistent average of 8-10 employees. We find this to be an optimum size to best perform professional design services. It affords owners the benefit of a Principal’s full involvement and continuity, but means we also have the capacity to successfully produce Southeast Alaska’s largest projects.

Principals Paul Voelckers and Zane Jones bring decades of combined experience to the firm and have extensive knowledge of arctic and sub-arctic climate concerns, required material specifications, and energy and environmentally-conscious design. We’ve lived and built here for decades, and it shows.