Paul Voelckers, President, Architect, Principal-in-Charge

Paul has been with MRV Architects since 1981 and has been involved with some of the largest and most complex planning and architectural projects in the region. Paul excels at leading multi-disciplinary teams through a collaborative design process to deliver notable, timely projects. He has extensive experience in Programming, Site Analysis, Construction Documents, and Contract Administration. Paul has also headed many planning projects for Southeast Alaska communities, including several large-scale greenfield development projects in Juneau. He is passionate about incorporating community input into design solutions so that each project is perfectly suited for its users.

Paul is particularly interested in the impact planning policy and administration can have on creating a vibrant, economically viable, and strong community. As Project Architect, Paul assists clients with zoning and planning issues, and regularly meets with and presents to the CBJ Planning Commission (of which he is a member). Paul has an in-depth understanding both of the current CBJ Land-Use Ordinances, as well as the administrative processes governing planning in the City and Borough.

Paul is also an artist, a runner, and an active member of Juneau’s creative community.

Professional Registration

Registered 1984, AIA# 6536-A
LEED AP Certified, 2007


Masters in Architecture,
Harvard University,
Graduation with Honors

Bachelor of Arts, English
Literature, Whitman College

Personal Awards

AIA Alaska Chapter 2018 Kumin Award

CEFPI Len Mackler Award 2012

Excellence in Education Award,
Juneau School District, 1999

Distinguished Service Award, AIA,
Alaska Chapter, 1990


Juneau Planning Commission
Vice-chair: 2014- present

Juneau Arts & Humanities Council
Board Vice President 2004-2011
Board President, 2008-2010

Juneau Economic Development
Council, 1997-2003
Board Chairman, 2003

Council of Educational Facilities Planners Intn’l
Alaska Chapter
Board of Directors 2002-2003

American Institute of Architects:
State Chapter President, 1990